Report of the
Chairman of the
Board of Trustees

Ladies and Gentlemen,

The Board of Trustees of the RAG-Stiftung duly performed the duties incumbent upon it under the articles of association with great commitment in the 2022 financial year.

The 13 members of the Board of Trustees discussed the situation and the concerns of the foundation in its in-person meetings on 10 May and 29 November 2022 in depth. They included resolutions on the consolidated and annual financial statements for 2021, the increase in the budget for education, science and culture for 2022 and approval of the economic plan of the RAG-Stiftung for 2023. Resolutions were also adopted on the reappointment of two members of the Board of Executives, the discharge of the Board of Executives, achievement of the objectives for 2021, and the agreement of goals for the members of the Board of Executives for 2023. An additional budget for what is now the sixth exchangeable bond on Evonik shares issued by the RAG-Stiftung and, as part of a circular resolution, for aid for Ukrainian refugees was also approved.

The Board of Executives of the foundation again informed the Board of Trustees in detail about all current and relevant developments at the RAG-Stiftung during the meetings as well as via quarterly reports. One focus of the reporting was the diversified investments and the continued progress of the assets, as well as the strategic holdings Evonik Industries AG, RAG Aktiengesellschaft, Vivawest GmbH and RSBG SE. Additionally, the Board of Executives presented the record of success of the support projects in the areas of education, science and culture to the Board of Trustees and provided information on fundamental issues related to corporate governance and compliance structures in the Foundation Group.

The Board of Trustees welcomed one new ex officio member over the course of the year, namely Anke Rehlinger, Minister President of the State of Saarland, and three new appointed members: Anne Lütkes, Reiner Priggen and myself. The Board of Trustees bade farewell to Professor Norbert Lammert, former President of the German Bundestag, former Minister President Tobias Hans, Dr. Burckhard Bergmann and its Chairman Dr. Jürgen Großmann, whose successor I was elected at the end of November 2022.

Armin Laschet
Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the RAG-Stiftung

© Laurence Chaperon